Skip to Main Content

Founders Society

FOUNDERS SOCIETY AWARD LUNCHEON – wednesday, may 10, 2017


As part of the 50th anniversary celebration in 2008, the Board of Trustees created the Founders Society Award.  In the spirit of our founders, the award honors an individual or organization that has made a significant impact on the growth and development of the College and has demonstrated an extraordinary level of commitment to North Central Michigan College.

2017 Honorees

Pier and Renee Borra

Pier and Renee Borra have provided generous support to the College and its nursing and allied health students since 2009. In that time, more than 190 nursing and allied health students have received Borra scholarships. Most recently, Pier and Renee established the Borra Nursing Pathway Scholarships to encourage the most capable students with the greatest financial need to obtain an Associate Degree in Nursing and a Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing Degree.  The Borras also provided capital support for the Health Education and Science Center nursing wing. Pier and Renee are committed to working together to make a profound difference in the lives of North Central students and the communities we serve.

Please join us in celebrating the contributions of the Pier and Renee Borra at the Founders Society Award Luncheon.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

11:30 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.

Iron Horse Café/SCRC

$25 per person

Proceeds from this event go to the Founders Society Enrichment Scholarship Fund.

Please make your reservation by returning the enclosed card by May 5, 2017. Make checks payable to the NCMC Foundation. For more information, contact Marsha Tompkins at 231-439-6218.




  • The recipient demonstrates significant volunteer support and leadership for the College.
  • The recipient shows foresight and vision in the advancement of the College and its students.
  • The recipient inspires others by work or example to seek leadership within the College.
  • The recipient has demonstrated financial support for the College.


Nominations will be solicited through and received by the NCMC Foundation.  Final selection will be made by a committee. Nomination process begins in April, with the selection of the honorees in August.  Award festivities are schedule for mid-October.  The Foundation will, however, work with the honorees to accommodate their schedules.


The recipients will be honored at a luncheon on campus where they will receive their awards.  Community and business leadership as well as members of the Founders Society and the College will be invited to participate and attend the luncheon.



  • Ann K. Irish
  • John C. Linck
  • W. Richard Smith


  • Jean Beckley
  • Keith Lamkin


  • Jack Harris
  • Dr. Jack Postle


  • Robert Blanz
  • Joan Kleinstiver
  • Marion Kuebler


  • Max Bunker
  • Ernest H. Mainland


  • Petoskey Plastics
  • Melissa and Paul Keiswetter


  • Frey Foundation

For a nomination form, click here.