North Central Michigan College hosted the 2024 “Pursuit of Pickleball Challenge” on February 1. The tournament featured 32 of the top players from the Tip of the Mitt playing on four teams: Charlevoix County, Emmet County, the City of Petoskey, and Northern Michigan Elite.

Charlevoix County topped the City of Petoskey, followed by Emmet County winning over Northern Michigan Elite.  Emmet County (38-9-1), led by Cindy Bergstrom, Jason Swan, and Anna Westphal, went on to win the Challenge Trophy with a decisive victory over Charlevoix County. This trio, with the addition of Phillip Wampler of Charlevoix, was named All-Area First Team. 

In the tournament that followed, John Penfold and Jason Smith took home top men’s division honors, while Anna Westphal and Jessica Leidell took first place on the women’s side. Duane Enos and Kendyl Jarski bested 16 teams to gain recognition as the premier mixed pair between Mackinaw City and Gaylord.