Skip to Main Content

Clubs & Organizations

Paint throwing event at North Central

North Central Michigan College offers a wide range of extra-curricular activities to add to your college experience. Some activities we offer are The Lecture Series, movie nights, Winterpalooza, Summer Send-Off, and much more. The Lecture Series brings prominent national and international figures to campus each year. Recent speakers we have had the pleasure of hosting are James Earl Jones, Jeff Corwin, Soledad O'Brien, Coach Ken Carter, Judith Guest, Paul Rusesabagina (profiled in the film, "Hotel Rwanda"), Celine Cousteau, and the co-hosts of the Discovery Channel's "MythBusters" program, Adam Savage and Jamie Hyneman.

 

LOOKING TO START A CLUB? START HERE.


Special interest clubs and organizations offer opportunities for students to broaden their educational experiences. Students are encouraged to participate in the activities sponsored by clubs and organizations, or students can consider organizing new clubs. Membership in all organizations is open to any interested student.

For more information contact:
Corey Lansing, Director of Admission, at 231-439-6349 or clansing@ncmich.edu.

student senate

Student Senate participants

Purpose: The Student Senate is a student-run government organization at North Central Michigan College. The Senate is how students may participate in institutional government by representation on Senate and College committees. Student Senate members assist in planning a variety of extra-curricular activities to be held throughout the year. Student Senate meetings are held regularly during the year and are open to all who are interested.  

Membership Criteria: Any North Central Student can participate in Student Senate.
Meetings:  Mondays at 4:00 p.m. in AD/CL 122
Advisors: Leon Nash, 231-439-6443, lnash3@ncmich.edu

Corey Lansing, 231-439-6349, clansing@ncmich.edu
Ashley Antonishen, 231-348-6830, aantonishen@ncmich.edu

Phi Theta Kappa

Group of Phi Theta Kappa members holding similar paintings

Purpose: The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide the opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.
Membership Criteria: 3.5 minimum grade point average, at least 12 credits completed and induction into Phi Theta Kappa honor society.
Advisor: Chelse Hawkins Olivo, chawkinsolivo@ncmich.edu

 

Residence Hall Council

Purpose: To improve the lives of residence hall members.
Membership Criteria: Must be a resident in the North Central Michigan College campus dorms.
Meetings: Mondays, 9 p.m.; Residence Hall Lobby
Advisor: Leon Nash, 231-439-6443, lnash3@ncmich.edu

Student Veterans Association

Purpose: The Student Veterans Association (SVA) of North Central Michigan College is a coalition of student veterans, active-duty personnel, family members, and friends. Today more and more veterans are coming home from deployments and exiting the military. It is often difficult for service members to locate information on, understand, and obtain the resources and benefits that they are entitled to. Many veterans are also overwhelmed by a combination of emotional, financial, and cultural obstacles that hinder their college education. We are dedicated to ensuring these veterans do not fall through the cracks or get left behind as they work toward higher education and a better life.

Membership Criteria: Open to all interested in all things veteran.
Advisor: Dallas Culvahouse, 231-348-6321, dculvahouse@ncmich.edu
 

North Central Michigan College Student Nurses Association

Students in a group wearing lab coats Purpose: In accordance with the National Student Nurses Association's mission and the mission of NCMC the mission of the North Central Michigan College Student Nurses Association is to:
     -Organize, represent and mentor NCMC students preparing for their initial licensure as registered nurses.
     -Promote the development of the skills that students will need as responsible and accountable members of the nursing profession
     -Advocate for high-quality health care in a multicultural society
Membership Criteria: All nursing students are eligible to become members of NCMCSNA (North Central Michigan College Student Nurses Association)
Meetings: Monthly, more if necessary, HESC 347
President: Kat Markiewicz, markiewiczk@student.ncmich.edu
Co-Advisors: Lisa Stabile, lstabile@ncmich.edu; Kim Knott, kknott2@ncmich.edu

Fusion — Campus Ministry

Purpose: Helping students grow in their faith and relationship with Jesus. Encouraging each other to be a positive influence on their families, school, and communities.

Membership Criteria: Anyone interested is welcome.

Meetings: Once a week - small group. Once a month - larger group.

President: Hope (Theodora) Turner, blissfulflight@gmail.com
Vice-President: Jeffery Schlube, jschlube@gmail.com
Secretary: Joslynne Cross, jozlynne-cross@gmail.com
Treasurer: Spencer Cross, scross.fpn@gmail.com
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Scott Hickman, shickman1@ncmich.edu